1958 Agreement Revision 2

From 2016[update], participants in the 1958 agreement, with their UN country code:[4] The Global Forum on The Harmonization of Vehicle Rules is a working group (WP.29)[1] of the Sustainable Transport Division of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN-EEC). Its mission is to manage the multilateral agreements signed in 1958, 1997 and 1998 on technical requirements relating to the construction, registration of bicycle vehicles and their regular technical inspection and to work within the framework of these three agreements to develop and amend UN regulations, UN global technical regulations and UN regulations. , a kind of vehicle regulation. The most notable non-signature of the 1958 agreement was that of the United States, which had its own federal motor vehicle safety standards and did not recognize UN-type receptions. However, both the United States and Canada are parties to the 1998 agreement. Vehicles and components of the United Nations specification that do not also comply with U.S. rules cannot therefore be imported into the United States without significant modifications. Canada has its own Canada Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, which roughly resemble the U.S. FMVSS, but Canada also accepts UN-compliant headlights and bumpers.

The forthwhile comprehensive economic and trade agreement between Canada and the European Union could prompt Canada to recognize more UN rules as acceptable alternatives to Canadian rules. [9] Canada currently applies 14 of the 17 main EEC standards as authorized alternatives: exceptions for motorcycle controls and displays, motorcycle mirrors and electronic control of the stability of passenger cars. [Citation required] These remaining three groups will be authorized in Canada until the trade agreement is ratified. [Citation required] The first signatories to the 1958 agreement included Italy (28 March), the Netherlands (30 March), Germany (19), France (26), Hungary (30 June), Sweden and Belgium. Initially, the agreement only allowed the participation of the ECEC member countries, but in 1995 the agreement was revised to allow the participation of non-MEMBERS of the ERC. Current participants include the European Union and its member countries, as well as non-EEC-UN countries such as Norway, Russia, Ukraine, Croatia, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Turkey, Azerbaijan and Tunisia, and even remote regions such as South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Thailand and Malaysia. Most countries, even if they do not formally participate in the 1958 agreement, recognize the provisions of the United Nations and reflect the content of UN regulations in their own national requirements, or authorize the importation, registration and use of UN vehicles or both. The two main exceptions are the United States and Canada (excluding lighting requirements); UN regulations are generally not recognized and UN compliant vehicles and equipment are not permitted for importation, sale or use in both regions unless they are considered to be in compliance with regional vehicle safety legislation or restricted non-traffic (e.g. B car show screens). [5] The 1958 agreement is based on the principles of type reception and mutual recognition.

Any country that adheres to the 1958 agreement is entitled to review and approve the design of a product regulated by a manufacturer, regardless of the country in which that component was manufactured. Each design of each manufacturer is counted as a single type. Once a member country has granted a reception by type, any other member country is required to make a requirement and to consider that vehicle or its equipment to be legal for importation, sale and use.